In New Mexico, only the County Clerk’s office is allowed to issue a marriage license, which is required in order to be married in the state. The license will cost between $25 and $40 and is valid for one year after the date of issuance. There is no waiting period for a marriage license nor do you require a medical examination, however both parties of the marriage must be present when applying for the marriage license.
In order to marry in the State of New Mexico, both the bride and groom must be 18 years of age or older. If either party is 16 or 17 years old, they will require parental consent. If either applicant is under the age of 15, a court order by a judge is required in order to marry in the State of New Mexico.
You may be married by a Justice of the Peace, who is usually a Magistrate Judge, Municipal Judge, District Judge or Probate Judge, or any member of religious clergy who has the credentials within their religious society to perform marriages. You must have the officiate of the ceremony and two witnesses sign the marriage license.
The State of New Mexico does not allow proxy marriages—both parties must be present at the ceremony in order for the marriage to be valid. Common law marriages are not recognized by the state of New Mexico. Covenant marriages and same-sex marriages are also not allowed in New Mexico, however cousin marriages are allowed.
|Do-it-yourself Prenuptial Agreement|
|Free Consultation with our Attorneys|