Marriage in Mississippi is governed by Title 93 of the Mississippi code. It clearly outlines void marriages, which are incestuous marriages including first cousins. Incestuous marriages include any direct familial relations by whole or half blood or adoption. Mississippi also does not deem same sex marriages to be valid in the state. Mississippi does not recognize proxy, common law, same sex or cousin marriages.
In order to marry in Mississippi, the applicants must apply for a marriage in writing to the clerk of the circuit court in any county. If the female party is under the age of 21, the application for the marriage license must be made by her. There is a waiting period of three days for the marriage license. A medical certificate must be presented to the court clerk as well, and must be dated within 30 days of the application date to prove the applicants are free from syphilis. There is a $22 fee for the marriage license. For females under the age of 21, parental consent must be sent with the application for marriage. If there is no parental consent issued, the parents of the female will be informed by certified mail of the impending marriage.
A minister of the gospel, Rabbi, or gospel leader of any religious society is capable of solemnizing a marriage. Also, any judge of the Supreme Court, Court of Appeals, chancery court, county court or circuit court, justice court judges and members of the board may also solemnize the wedding. The officiate of the wedding ceremony must file a copy of the marriage certificate, signed to the clerk of the court who issued it, who will then file a copy of the license on record.
Marriage laws in Mississippi can change from time to time, so it’s best to check with your local county clerk’s office before applying for a marriage license.
|Do-it-yourself Prenuptial Agreement|
|Free Consultation with our Attorneys|