Kentucky marriage law is regulated by the Kentucky Revised Code, title 35. Marriage in Kentucky is only valid if between two people of the opposite sex. Same-sex marriages and incestuous marriages are not recognized by the state and are considered void. Your marriage will also be void if one or more of the parties is judged as mentally disabled, still married to another living person where a divorce has not been decreed, or when not sanctified by an authorized officiate.
Both parties must be over the age of 18 years old. If the parties are over the age of 16, but not yet 18, then parental consent must be obtained. You must also apply for a marriage license through your county office, both the bride and groom-to-be must be present when applying for the license, however, the request may be made in writing by the female. A fee of $34.50 is required to obtain the license. A marriage license is only valid for 30 days and can only be used in the State of Kentucky.
Your marriage must be officiated by an authorized person, which include: Ministers or ordained officials of any denomination of religion, judges and justices of the court as well as retired judges or justices or by a religious society that has no officiator who solemnizes the marriage by consent given in the presence of the society. You will also need to have a minimum of two witnesses to your marriage. The witnesses may be under the age of 18 if they are deemed by the officiating person to be sufficient to observe the facts of the marriage.
The officiating person must return the signed marriage license within one month to the clerk who issued it. The clerk will record the marriage and return the license to the married couple.
|Do-it-yourself Prenuptial Agreement|
|Free Consultation with our Attorneys|